A further form of control is exercised by Parliament through the power to vote financial assistance. This may take different forms. For some corporations, capital may be provided by parliamentary grants, loans or advances that may subsequently be converted into capital stock or bonds; for others it may be by the issue of capital stock to be subscribed and paid for by the Government; or by the sale of bonds to either the Government or the public. A few corporations have financed all or a portion of their requirements from their own resources or earnings.

Prior to 1952, Crown corporations did not pay corporate income taxes. However, the Income Tax Act was later amended so that, in respect of financial years commencing after Jan. 1, 1952, proprietary Crown corporations pay taxes on income earned in the same manner as any privately owned corporation. One desirable result of this amendment is that the financial statements of these Crown companies are now more comparable with those of private industry, with which in some instances they are in competition, and thus it is easier to assess the relative efficiency of their operations.

The functions of the various Crown corporations are given briefly in the following paragraphs. For a number of them, further details are included in the Chapters dealing with the subjects concerned (see Index).

Agricultural Stabilization Board.—The Board was established in 1958 (SC 1957-58, c. 22) to administer the provisions of the Agricultural Stabilization Act, which replaced the Agricultural Prices Support Act. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture and routine administrative matters are handled through departmental channels.

Air Canada.—Formerly Trans-Canada Air Lines, the Corporation was incorporated by Act of Parliament in 1937 to provide a publicly owned air transportation service, with powers to carry on its business throughout Canada and outside of Canada. Air Canada now maintains passenger, mail and commodity traffic services over nation-wide routes and also services to the United States, England, Scotland, Ireland, France, Switzerland, West Germany, Austria, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados and Trinidad. Air Canada is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Atlantic Development Board.—The Act establishing this Board (SC 1962-63, c. 10) received Royal Assent on Dec. 20, 1962. The Board is composed of a chairman and four other members appointed by Order in Council and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport. Its functions are to inquire into and report upon measures and projects for fostering the economic growth and development of the Atlantic Region of Canada and to assess and make recommendations with respect to particular projects referred to it by the Minister.

Atomic Energy Control Board.—By Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 11) proclaimed October 1946, the regulation and control of atomic energy in Canada was placed under the Atomic Energy Control Board. The Board reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Industry).

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited.—This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (RSC 1952, c. 11) to take over from the National Research Council on Apr. 1, 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project. The main activities of the company are (a) the development of economic nuclear power, (b) scientific research and development in the atomic energy field, (c) the operation of nuclear reactors and (d) the production of radioactive isotopes and associated equipment such as Cobalt-60 beam therapy units for the treatment of cancer. The company reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Industry).

Bank of Canada.—Legislation of 1934 (RSC 1952, c. 13) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada, the function of which is to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment so far as may be possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation in Canada. The Bank is managed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Government and composed of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and 12 Directors; the Deputy Minister of Finance is also a member of the Board. The Bank reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance and is governed by its own Act of incorporation. (See footnote, p. 115.)

The Canada Council.—Established by Order in Council dated Apr. 15, 1957, this corporation of a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman and 19 other members, a Director and an Associate Director